Houzz Logo Print
ed_findlay

Kitchen layout.. any advice to improve a first attempt?!

Ed Findlay
l'anno scorso
Ultima modifica:l'anno scorso

Trying to decide on a layout for a small new build kitchen, it is pretty small, but keen to include a fridge/freezer, microwave, oven, hob and slimline dishwasher, and have full access to the corner from a cupboard for full use of storage..

This is my first attempt, using Ikea kitchen planner - not that we're fixed on Ikea (Howdens actually has a better sized corner cupboard for our space) it was just the easiest planner to draw with..

The right handside is unusable, as will have a sliding door into a downstairs loo and the stairs / entrance to passageway going to sitting room etc - all very difficult to draw on the planner tool, but hopefully clearer on the layout below:

Would love any suggestions about anything - from the layout, to colours, handles, surfaces etc. We are on a budget, hence considering Ikea/Howdens. The floor will be large scale light grey porcelain tiles (ie https://www.caesar.it/en/collections-porcelain-tile/join/wing/). Many thanks!!

Commenti (10)

• 88wj88
    l'anno scorso

Is this a flat or a house? How many people to live in it? I am asking as the fridge/ freezer proposed will be too small . I would put in a full height fridge/ freezer and put a free standing microwave on the worktop, or build it in somewhere else. ( I am not a fan of hot food at eye level I have to admit)

Ed Findlay ha ringraziato 88wj88
  • PRO
    Studio Trevow
    l'anno scorso

It looks a great start, I would be considering the glazed doors, depending on whether you have lots of display items? Normal covered storage might be more helpful, tidier and less dated.

I would also consider the angled cupboard, again this can feel a little dated, see if there are options for 90degree corners.

Ed Findlay ha ringraziato Studio Trevow
  • PRO
    Jemimah Barnett
    l'anno scorso

I agree with both those comments so far: