Houzz Logo Print
gelato822

Custom build house - bad tile job or am I crazy/too picky??

K WG
5 anni fa

We are building our dream home, and spending a lot of money to do so. So far we are really happy with how everything is turning out, except for the tile. I'm completely new to this and am not sure what is "acceptable," but I know this doesn't look good... All the grout looks messy (holes, uneven, big globs, not wiped down) and the layouts are awkward.

When I asked our builder about it he said the tile guys usually come back at the end and clean up the grout, fill in holes, and grind big patches away. I feel like this is strange... Why would they come back to clean up a job when they could have done it when they were already here? I don't have a lot of knowledge on grout, but does it make sense to put grout over grout to fill in holes and uneven spaces? And why not clean up the big patches when they were there instead of creating more work for them to grind them down later? Could grinding it down weaken the grout? Possibly chip the tiles?

For the master shower, there are places where they have tiny slivers of tile along an edge that just disappear into being filled-in grout. Where the bullnose meets the wall, the tile goes in and out and is no where near aligned or level with the wall. Our builder told me it was because the walls weren't straight.

For the floors, we have rectified porcelain, plank tiles. The grout seems super low in some spots and the corners are really sharp. But I keep questioning myself on all of this because I'm not an expert and maybe I am being too picky?

Here are a few of many, many issues I'm seeing:

Commenti (36)

• PRO
    Nexa Group
    5 anni fa

It does look the job was not done by experienced contractors. Either the tile is not high quality, therefore a lot of variation, or the contractor skills are lacking, and a bit messy...

K WG ha ringraziato Nexa Group
  • Angel 18432
    5 anni fa