Houzz Logo Print
tdemonti

Help Gaining Confidence Painting Ombré

tdemonti
5 anni fa
Ultima modifica:5 anni fa

Tips? Tricks? Techniques? I've watched you tube videos But don't feel confident enough yet.

I'm torn between gradiating horizontally or vertically, or simulate something like a sunst.

The reason is to camouflage a wall in the kitchen dining area. It seems prior wallpaper glue had not been washed but was painted over.

There will be a (white) bookshelf to the right.

Thanks for any advice.

Commenti (85)

• hollybar
    5 anni fa

You can prime and paint or paper over glazed walls. If I were to tackle this,I'd have rollers,brushes, and sponges at hand. And water. I do understand the allure of doing this, I have done similar years ago, just understand that it evolves. As an old artist I know says,"Use your BIG eyes". She means 'step back and look,really look, at what is going on' and course correct as needed.

• lynartist
    5 anni fa
    I have used many different glazed over the years. Made our own oil glazed way back before commercial ones could be bought. The oil glazed were the most beautiful but for lots of reasons aren’t used much anymore. You can use the Golden but it’s an art product so will be expensive. MM has one as well as BM and some othe paint suppliers. I like Auquacreme from faux effects. You would have to send off for it though. They don’t usually sell to the general public.
  • lynartist
    5 anni fa
    And not to misunderstand MS colors, I have used Golded acrylics often! There are many times when I have mixed Golden interference colors with my glazed as a topcoat for a wall or ceiling treatment;)!
  • lynartist
    5 anni fa
    Why does spell check keep changing glazes to glazed:(!
  • PRO
    User
    5 anni fa

We miss the oil glaze too. Golden slow drying acrylics fluid acrylics are not very expensive and are made to be mixed in this glaze. Golden acrylics at the art store is a different product.

• tdemonti