Houzz Logo Print
mugdhagadkari

Painting wood ceiling or not?

Meg G
8 anni fa

Hi! I am new to the Houzz community. We just closed on a house in Silicon Valley and we love the lot and the huge mature trees around the house. The house itself is a bit dated and we are hoping to update a few things. The living room has vaulted wooden ceilings, wooden doors and trim and also wooden floors. I wanted some opinion on whether I should paint then ceiling, doors and trim white to give it a fresher look. It also gets limited light due to the trees outside and I was hoping white would make it a bit brighter. (P.S. The furniture isn't ours. We haven't moved in yet). Any tips to give this place an updated look? Thanks a lot!

Commenti (50)

• Judy Mishkin
    8 anni fa

i'd say give it the benefit of the doubt til you get your things in. it makes a huge difference what your furnishings bring to the room and to get you geared up to paint as soon as you move in (or worse, before you move in) would be wrong.

congratulations on your new house tho, even if you have to be patient.

Meg G ha ringraziato Judy Mishkin
  • PRO
    Maltby Design
    8 anni fa

Move in and live with it for a while. It may turn out that you really like the wood.

Meg G ha ringraziato Maltby Design
  • karielen
    8 anni fa

The current paint color isn't helping. I'd paint the walls white first and then decide.

Meg G ha ringraziato karielen
  • hahamoley
    8 anni fa

I have wood ceilings in some of my house. I've left the high living room ceiling alone but painted the bedroom and bathroom ceilings white because they were small rooms. Regardless of the primer I used knotholes bled through - although with the last oil-based primer it took ten years for them to appear. Painting means more upkeep.

Meg G ha ringraziato hahamoley
  • printesa
    8 anni fa

I would leave them like they are now. It looks nice. Once you bring your furniture, you'll see how you like it.